The
British painter and sculptor George Frederic Watts (1817-1904) was an artist
whose huge reputation around 1900 was, it could be argued, based on ‘art in the
home’. For such a Titan of the Victorian art scene, he enjoyed relatively little success at the annual London
exhibitions. Instead, his mass-reproduced allegorical subjects such as Hope, Love and Life and The
All-Pervading were to be found in ordinary homes around the world, accepted
as secular icons of high-minded agnosticism. Watts was the master of the
suburban sublime.
Watts
himself had never tried hard to separate out his work spaces from his domestic
arrangements. The latter indeed simply fitted themselves around his studio
practice. For some twenty-five years he lived and worked as a house-guest of
the Prinsep family at Little Holland House in Kensington, London, where the
haunt of the anchorite-artist was a highlight of a visit to that Bohemian private
house. Watts would later open his own
house in Kensington to the public on Sunday afternoons.
Following
his marriage to the designer Mary Seton Fraser-Tytler in 1886, Watts came to
spend more time in the countryside, at Limnerslease in Compton outside Guildford
in Surrey. Mary Watts felt her ageing husband needed some help in focusing on
the major works he still had in hand – hence the name of the house, suggesting
a new dose of vitality for the artist. As Watts evolved his final Symbolist
masterpieces, and Mary developed her Compton Pottery enterprise, they
collaborated on the design of another new extraordinary building, across the
lane from Limnerslease, which – in the Watts tradition – was to be both a
residence and a picture gallery. The Hostel, as it was originally known, housed
both the male apprentices of the Compton Pottery and a suite of spaces in which
to show works by the great old man, who lived just long enough to see the
building open in 1904. The Hostel-Gallery was designed in an Arts & Crafts
style by a local architect, Kit Hatton Turnor, who had trained under Edwin Lutyens.
After the Pottery closed in the 1950s, the building was given more fully over
to the art collection, although Gallery staff have always continued to live on
site.
Much
research has been done to recover the early history of the building, although
it has been hard to discover much first-hand evidence of what it was like
actually to live there. The apprentices were provided with dormitories,
kitchen, dining and recreation rooms, while a narrow corridor – in effect a
service passage – connected the domestic spaces so as to make it possible for everyday
life to carry on without unduly impeding the visitors studying the pictures in
the galleries. It was a peculiar,
perhaps unique, arrangement: a utopian craft community living – literally –
around the legacy of a great artist whose works were intended, among other
things, to inspire the youngsters to offer The Utmost for the Highest (as
Watts’s motto had it).
.jpg)
No comments:
Post a Comment